PBIS

A huge topic in my education classes is PBIS which stands for Positive Behavioral Intervention and Support.  This is a multi-tiered system approach that helps students with their behavior in different areas of their school lives.  It is supposed to enforce respecting yourself, others and property, being safe, being responsible, and being respectful, and respecting relationships and respecting responsibilities.  The little exposure that I have had to PBIS, I think it is wonderful.  I have worked in other school systems and and their behavioral interventions do not work.  The reason that PBIS makes me go hmmm is, why aren’t all schools using this? I feel that all schools would benefit from using PBIS.  I really like it because it is used across all areas of school and the expectations on right on track with the age levels using it.  Another great thing about PBIS, is that you can use it at any level of education. I did a quick search on PBIS and came across this site https://www.pbis.org/  It has wonderful information and I urge everyone to go and look at it!

Leave a Reply

